Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: News

2018 AzVMA Distinction of Professionalism and Hall of Fame Awards

Thursday, May 31, 2018  
Share |

Three veterinarians were presented with 2018 Distinction of Professionalism awards and another three were inducted into the Hall of Fame during the Arizona Veterinary Medical Association’s (AzVMA) Inaugural/Awards Luncheon at the AzVMA Desert West Connection conference held earlier this month in Tucson.


Dr. Richard Panzero, of River Road Pet Clinic in Tucson, was named AzVMA’s Veterinarian of the Year.  The Veterinarian of the Year award is presented to a veterinarian who has served the AzVMA, the profession and the community for over 25 years.


Dr. Panzero is well known to the Arizona veterinary community, especially in the Tucson area.  A native Tucsonan, he has always given generously of his time in service of the veterinary profession on the local, state and national levels.  He is past president of the Southern Arizona Veterinary Medical Association, served on the board of directors of the AzVMA in every officer position and as president in 2013.  He currently serves as AzVMA’s alternate delegate to the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).  An advocate for continuing education, he has earned membership in the Arizona Academy of Veterinary Practice for 20 years. 


Dr. James Maciulla, assistant dean, Clinical Relations, University of Arizona College of Veterinary Medicine in Tucson, is the 2018 recipient of the AzVMA’s Distinguished Service Award.  The award is given to a veterinarian who has made exceptional contributions to the veterinary community and the profession.  

Dr. Maciulla has been one of the most active and dedicated members of the AzVMA.  Recognizing the importance of organized veterinary medicine, he assumed volunteer leadership positions for the AzVMA.  He served as a director on the AzVMA Board, in every officer position, and as president in 2015-16.  He also served as chair of the association’s Finance Committee.


Dr. Kathryn Kitchen, of Animal Hospital at Grayhawk in Scottsdale, was named Emerging Leader of the Year. The award is presented to a veterinarian who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and engagement in organized veterinary medicine and a commitment to the current and future generation of volunteer leaders in the profession.


Dr. Kitchen, a native of Arizona, is member of the AzVMA’s Young Leader’s Advisory Council, where she distinguished herself as an advocate for students.  She participates annually in the student orientation program at Midwestern University and is an advocate for the AzVMA’s student mentorship program, easing the transition from the classroom to the exam room. 


The following three veterinarians were inducted into the AzVMA Hall of Fame.

The late Dr. William Joslin, who owned and operated Estrella Animal Hospital and Estrella Equine, played an integral role in protecting the profession and the interests of Arizona veterinarians for many years.  He served in every association volunteer leadership position with distinction, and, as president, led the association to extremely important victories over the most serious issues facing the practice of veterinary medicine in Arizona.  He is a 2014 recipient of the AzVMA’s Distinguished Service Award.


The late Dr. Guy Poppy, an AzVMA life member, served as president of the AzVMA in 1972 and was an active member of the association and its committees for many years.  He was also a member of the Central Arizona Veterinary Medical Association and the Council of Professions.  He was influential in the development and improvement of communication and cooperation between the various medical professions in Arizona.  He owned and operated the East Washington Animal Hospital and Mountain View Veterinary Hospital in Phoenix.  In 1973, he became an adjunct professor of Biological Sciences at Southwest College in Phoenix and worked at the Barrow Neurological Institution as the veterinarian in charge of the vivarium.  He also served as an anesthesiologist in a missionary hospital in Zaire, now the Democratic Republic of the Congo.


The final inductee was the late Dr. J. Brent Rollins, an equine veterinarian, AzVMA life member and founding partner of Chaparral Veterinary Medical Center in Cave Creek, from which he retired in 2012 after 45 years of practice.  During those years, Dr. Rollins served on the AzVMA board of directors and on its Academy Committee.  He was also active in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, as a leader and teacher.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal