Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: News

2017 Distinction of Professionalism Awards

Monday, June 5, 2017  
Share |

Three veterinarians were presented with 2017 Distinction of Professionalism awards during the Arizona Veterinary Medical Association’s (AzVMA) Inaugural/Award Luncheon at the AzVMA Annual State Meeting held in May in Tempe.


Dr. Curt Coffman Named Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. Curt Coffman, of Arizona Veterinary Dental Specialists in Scottsdale, was named AzVMA’s Veterinarian of the Year.  The Veterinarian of the Year award is presented to a veterinarian who has served the AzVMA, the profession and the community for over 25 years.


Dr. Coffman is well known to the veterinary community.  He not only is an esteemed practitioner, he is an enthusiastic educator, selflessly giving of his time to train veterinary professionals to achieve excellence in patient care. He is a member of the Veterinary Dental Society, a Fellow of the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry, and a Diplomate of the American Veterinary Dental College. He has also served as president of the board of directors of the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry. Dr. Coffman has authored multiple publications.


As an active AzVMA member, Dr. Coffman assists in organizing AzVMA’s annual Dental Extravaganza, one of the most popular and well-attended association meetings of the year.


Dr. John Samuelson Receives AzVMA’s Distinguished Service Award

Dr. John Samuelson, of Madison Animal Hospital & Grooming PLC in Glendale, is the 2017 recipient of the AzVMA’s Distinguished Service Award.  The award is given to a veterinarian who has made exceptional contributions to the veterinary community and the profession.


Dr. Samuelson has generously given of his time over many years to serve the profession in a leadership capacity and has helped AzVMA emerge as a strong and respected association. He started his volunteer career in organized veterinary medicine as a member of the AzVMA Board of Directors. He went on to serve in every officer position, including president in 2014-2015. After moving off the executive committee, he became chairman of the all-important AzVMA finance committee, where he oversees the association’s financial matters. In addition, he sits on the AzVMA’s building committee, which deals with determining the future space and location needs of the association.


Dr. Samuelson has represented AzVMA at various national conferences, including the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) Public Policy Symposium and the Veterinary Leadership Conference. He continues to volunteer his time for the association wherever he can be of assistance.


Dr. Kaylee Yoshimoto Named Emerging Leader of the Year

Dr. Kaylee Yoshimoto, of Happy Valley Animal Hospital PLC in Glendale, was named Emerging Leader of the Year. The award is presented to a veterinarian who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and engagement in organized veterinary medicine and a commitment to the current and future generation of volunteer leaders in the profession.


Dr. Yoshimoto has already made her mark on organized veterinary medicine.  Just six years into her career, she has emerged as a shining example of the impact individuals can have on the future of the profession.  She serves as a student mentor and as a member of AzVMA’s Young Leader’s Advisory Council.  She also holds a seat on the AzVMA board as the council’s representative.


As AzVMA’s 2017 representative to the AVMA’s Veterinary Leadership Conference in Chicago this past January, she joined young veterinary leaders from throughout the country for an experience that will help these young professionals shape the future of our profession. Her enthusiasm and her vision speaks well of AzVMA’s future as a strong and vibrant veterinary community.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal